Purse, Satchel, Carry-all- I want one

It's European.

Why can’t dudes use purses?

I mean, I have a messenger bag in which I carry my computer, some papers, and little book that I take notes in it, but because it is large enough to hold a computer, I usually don’t get crap about it. However, if I were to get a smaller version of the same thing, upgrade from a laptop to an iPad, and carry that around, apparently I become a dandy.

Back in the day- the medieval day, mind you- men would carry satchels around with all of their stuff in it- “satchels” that if they were on the clearance rack at Filene’s Basement would garner serious attention from the most the “fairer sex” and from the “fairer sex” only. Why is that?

My pockets can only hold so much! I have important business papers (or something) to carry, and I don’t want a briefcase- I want to have my hands free so that I might encounter whatever life throws at me. Nobody ever called Indiana Jones a fairy. Indiana Jones carries a purse. Indiana Jones also single handedly defeated the Nazis. Therefore it follows that purse-wearing destroys fascism. We could all hope to live in a world free of fascism- where men are free to wear purses without reprisal. I dream of such a world. Won’t you join me?

-Springfield, IL

 

What's he's wearing over his shoulder? Just the saving grace of free people everywhere.

Explore posts in the same categories: commentary, humor

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Purse, Satchel, Carry-all- I want one”

  1. Jan Says:

    Is this a Christmas hint???? And truthfully, Paul, do you really want a satchel like Indiana Jones had, or do you just want to BE Indiana Jones?????

    • that dude Says:

      it’s not really a hint- i’m sure santa will deliver whatever he thinks that i or paul deserves this year. i don’t know about paul, but i’m getting sick and tired of coal- granted the fire burns hot, but i think the fumes are stunting my growth (yes, i’m still a growing boy)

  2. katie Says:

    This made me laugh out loud! “Indiana Jones carries a purse. Indiana Jones also single handedly defeated the Nazis. Therefore it follows that purse-wearing destroys fascism.” Now THAT’S logic 🙂

    • that dude Says:

      i think the logic stands on its own. i probably didn’t need to put all that other stuff there, just that statement.

      but i suppose if logic and fashion went hand-in-hand, high heels would’ve gone the way of the dodo.


Leave a Reply

