Washington, DC

Hi Washington, DC.

All in all, I like you. You’re a cute little city and your downtown is very clean. I also enjoy the sight seeing and free museums.

I had some issues, though, with your Metro system. Yes, it got me around just fine and it was easy to figure out and it was very helpful and all that. And getting cell phone service on most lines was SUPER convenient! But three things bother me.

1) Who the hell put CARPET on subway cars?! That’s just nasty.

2) I have to use my metro card both when I enter AND leave the subway?! COME ON! That’s just inconvenient.

3) It’s pretty dark in your stations. Making it a) difficult to read my book and b) totally unsafe. Invest in some lights!

Anyway, I plan on visiting again soon. You know, for the museums. But get to work on this subway system, ok?

Thanks,
NY,NY

Explore posts in the same categories: commentary, humor

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Washington, DC”

  1. Art Says:

    the carpet is totally gross. how do you hose down that place at the end of the night?

  2. Brad Says:

    I like having to go all the way into the city to get back out – must be a government run institution.

  3. Roxanne Says:

    I will say that the DC Metro is miles ahead of the CTA. I enjoyed actually KNOWING when a train would come in DC.

  4. Phil Says:

    For the BART system in San Fran, you have to use your card when you enter and leave the system. I think that’s to determine how far you’ve gone, and thus how much to charge your card. I can’t think of an easier way to do it, but I haven’t put more than 10 seconds of thought into it.

    They also do the “minutes until next train/bus” thing all over the city here, which is super awesome. Of course I also have MuniAlerts on my phone which does the same thing, but still. I think the CTA should do that, at least at the El stops.


Leave a Reply

