The Way It Should Be

Last night after watching the season finale of Glee, I was flipping through the paltry offerings of broadcast TV when, after deciding not to watch the Spanish channel, I ended up with Sesame Street.

Now, I hadn’t seen Sesame Street since I was younger, but I succinctly remember fond memories of the show. I’ve gotta say, though, I was impressed. Not only did I thoroughly enjoy watching the show (Elmo still annoys the crap out of me, but I can look past it), it was educational.

Well, maybe not education for me, per se, but educational for kids. This is what children’s programming should be like: fun, funny, entertaining, and educational. Heck, I learned to count eight or nine different times during the show. And I learned about the letter I.

I don’t know if you’ve seen filth like Teletubbies, but my god. Kids should not be exposed to acid-trippy television. Ever. Or Barney, the beyond annoying purple dinosaur that my sister used to love. Get all the kids hooked on Sesame Street again. There are few things in life that can’t be taught by Cookie Monster.

NY,NY

Explore posts in the same categories: commentary

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “The Way It Should Be”

  1. Art Says:

    Teletubbies is filth and Barney annoys me as much as Elmo annoys you. But, you know what was pretty good: Lambchop’s Play Along…good stuff.

  2. Diane Says:

    So how much did you LOVE the Glee finale?!!! The kiss at the end! Best line was Sue Sylvester’s “destination…HORROR!” And I am so glad Finn finally knows he is not the father of Quinn’s baby…I was feeling way too much stress for his mom! Hope things are going well in NY! Tell Katie “hi” from us!! ❤


    • LOVED it. I’m a huge fan of the show, actually. I was feeling pretty stressed for Finn, who I obviously saw more of a connection with than his mom 🙂 All is going well out here in NY, I’ll tell Katie hello, and I’ll be in StL for a few days before christmas so I’ll probably see you for a bit. Hope all is well with you, too.

  3. Katie Says:

    The only other thing I noticed about Sesame street was that the voice of the characters seemed to just getting higher and higher pitched. Elmo isn’t annoying to me, but man, his voice is squeaky. But then there’s that fairy – she’s squeaks AND is enthusiastic.

    Now I know what people think when they talk to me 🙂


Leave a Reply

